Prof. Obayya receives the most prestigious African Union Kwame Nkrumah Award for Scientific Excellence-AUKNASE

In recognition of Professor Salah Obayya’s substantial and outstanding contribution in the field of Computational Photonics, the African Union Commission has named him a winner of the “Kwame Nkrumah Award” for Scientific Excellence at the continental level.  The  Continental  level which Obayya won is  the  highest  level  of  the programme, and it is given to one  African  pioneer scientist each year for his achievements and discoveries in “science, technology and innovation”.

This prize recognizes his prolific cumulative lifetime body of research demonstrated by the number of his publications, trained research graduate students and the applicability of his scientific work to Africa’s challenges and its patentability.

It is worth noting that the "Kwame Nkrumah "award is considered the most prestigious honor in Africa. Each year, a few distinguished African scientists are selected and honored for their achievements and valuable discoveries and findings in science, technology and innovation. AUKNASE reflects and underscores a success story and the critical role of science, technology and innovation in the development and integration of Africa. Under this programme prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors: Life and Earth Science and innovation and Basic Science, Technology and Innovation at the national, regional and continental levels.
About Professor Obayya
Professor Salah is now Chair Professor and Founding Director of Center for Photonics and Smart Materials (CPSM). Previously, he was the Vice-Chair for Academic Affairs and Director-General of Research Institutes at the same institution. Prior to Zewail City, he took up several academic posts at Brunel University UK (tenured Associate Professor, 2002), University of Leeds, UK (tenured Professor, 2006), and the University of South Wales, UK (tenured Chair Professor, 2008) where he was the Founding Director of Photonics and Broadband Communications (PBC) Research Center and also he was the Director of Postgraduate Programs at the same institution. In May 2006, he has been naturalised as “British” citizen

Dr. Obayya was elected as the first Arab and African Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA) in Sep. 2019, and IEEE Fellow of IEEE Photonics Society, January 2021, Fellow of African Academy of Science (AAS), 2018, Fellow of the Institute of Engineering and Technology, IET (formerly FIEE), UK, 2010, elected Fellow of The Institute of Physics (IoP), UK, 2010, elected Fellow of The Higher Education Academy, UK, and Senior member of IEEE, USA, 2005, member of Board of Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (Egypt’s National Academy of Science), Member of Wales Institute of Mathematical and Computational Sciences (WIMCS), UK, Member of Optical Society of America (OSA), Member of International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), USA and Member of Applied Computational Electromganetic Society (ACES).

As remarkable recognition of his research achievements, he was the recipient of many national and international awards and recognitions such as Medal of Science and Arts of the first class, Egypt, 2019, Best Scientific Book, COMSTECH-Awards-2017, 2019, State Appreciation Award, Egypt, 2019, UNESCO Chair, Paris, 2019, Honorary Chair Professor of Photonics, University of Nottingham, UK, 2017, for his outstanding world-class research record, elected Senior Associate by Board of Directors, International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy, 2017, for his pivotal role in photonics research and education in Egypt, The Region and Africa and elected Senior Member by Board of Directors, Optical Society of America, OSA, 2017 for his internationally recognized research in Photonics, UAE President Khalifa Award for Distinguished Arab Professor in Scientific Research in April 2017, Doctor of Science (DSc) degree in Photonics from City University of London in Jan 2016; a degree awarded only to those who gained international distinction in their own fields, Arab Thought Foundation Award in Scientific Creativity (Lebanon), Dec. 2015; only one award in all fields of Science and Engineering is granted each year for one Arab Scientist, Egyptian Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT) Award in Engineering Sciences Creativity, Sept. 2014; only one award is granted each year for an Egyptian Scientist in Engineering Sciences, Abdul Hameed Shoman Foundation (Jordan) Award for Arab Scientists in Engineering Sciences, Oct. 2014; only one award is granted each year for one Arab Scientists in Engineering Sciences, State Award of Excellence for Engineering Sciences from the Egyptian State, Sept. 2013; only one scientist is awarded this prestigious award every year, Incentive State Award for Engineering Sciences from the Egyptian State, Sept. 2005, and many others.